When you’re feeling down, what music cheers you up?


Top Shelf String Section

Photo by Tim Scott Poma

Music Can Move You

BY TSP

When I’m felling down, what music can cheer me up
It all does usually, all I have to do is turn the volume up!
But it all depends on what kind of funk I am in,
As to what can raise my sprits and lift my pen.
When I’m mad at the state of things,
Punk rock always makes me sing.
When I’m upset about who cheated on who,
Country music always pulls me threw.
And when I really want to uplift
My soul and my spirit
I turn to the reggae remedies,
It cools my anger like a gentle spring breeze.
When I want no one to tell me how to feel
I Listen to Wagner, Beethoven and the classical thrills
As violins and piano concertos give my heart the chills.

When I’m lost in music
There’s no need to worry about a thing
“Because every little thing is going to be alright”
Bob Marley

What Music Is….

Music is an essential part of life. It is like oxygen for the lungs or blood for the heart. It is an art form whose medium is mathematical in nature that is expressed as sound organized in time. Music like any other art form tends to a brutally beautiful and represents a more truthful portrayal of a life. This is the reason music is able to relate to so many people. The reason music speaks volumes to so many people on so many different levels is because music is the accumulated consciousness of man or simply put, music is the evolution of sound. Music gets its root from the original beat, the heart. And it finds its original strings from the voice of the person singing it. Since these roots have grown and intertwined we find like a cornucopia that starts off very small and grows rather large so dose the types of sounds and noise’s we make, create and combine. There is a truth to music that goes far beyond the depth of the beautiful ascetics of the rhythm or the rhyme of the spoken word. There is a feeling that flows from generation to generation an underlying root ingrained into our consciousness that seems to stem from the origin of our being.

Music Speaks on behalf of the truth. The experiences that one derives from music are so much different from person to person, but many people can hear the music speaking to them. As if the music is not sung at all by the artist but by a voice of reason from the depths of the beginning of time like a heart beat in the night. The creator can be heard whispering to each and every one of us through this mathematical representation of sound based in time called, Music. What other frequency can make us move, shake and jump? Music can touch a person inter core ands send chills up a spine as if we are remembering something that we left behind. Perhaps from another time or from a future time that we have yet to experience and that is why it sends chills to the core of so many individuals. Music can start a mind to grow while it is in the womb of a mother, while at the same time sooth the nerves of frazzled individual. Music is comfort in an uncomfortable world it is a breath of fresh air in this our polluted environment. Music is what moves us and what sooths us and it is the soundtrack to our evolution.

Leave a Reply

