Keys


20120815-210402.jpg

I swiftly feel my heart start beat and bleed once again
As I wake from this emotionless slumber I have been in
In the wake of destruction I left behind a trail of tears
As I walked over hearts and crushed images I held so dear
Not intending to ever let you go but never wanting to hold on
I fumbled the key before I got to the door and you were gone
So I staggered back down the hallway drunk, to make amends
There you were I held you tightly and close to me like a body pillow
As you fit in my arms like all the leaves on a weeping willow
Now I’m the one leaving the trail of tears on my tear soaked pillow
For all the reason that remain unknown you began to billow
As I lie overexposed my nudity to nude to dress me with cloths
I still want this dream wrapped tightly in my arms once again
So that I can pretend at least for a while that we are still friends
But I see that your emotions have evaded the premises
Remaining now only cold that blows threw the open pain
The door is locked and the steel key quickly rust and turn to ash
Now there is no possibility or key to get you back
So I tie myself up in this tattered piece of paper hopping
To throw caution to the wind so that I can atone
For the man I have not been while harboring this heart of stone
In the morning you said the news was sad that day
And there was nothing good about it either way
So I kissed you good bye and left and walked away
Leaving me with the key to all my pain
But no word or reasons that you walked away

One Response to “Keys”

  1. Love this, very relatable… Heartache is miserable :/

Leave a Reply

